A visual journal

Bah, humbug!

beths-angel

“An Angel for Beth”

Embroidery and mixed media, (detail)

This year I am NOT full of Christmas cheer and spirit. To-day I bought and wrote my Christmas cards – and as I was writing them – I thought the designs I had chosen were rubbish. (We don’t have many shopping choices locally).

Why did I not think about Christmas a month ago – and make my own cards from one of my designs – I say it every year and never give myself enough time ….. bah humbug!

8 responses

  1. Zoe

    That’s a very beautiful card Karen, Lucky Beth!

    We had the last of the carpets laid today, I might have a sane home for Xmas after all!

    Zoë

    December 18, 2008 at 6:45 pm

  2. The detail on that card is spectacular! Very beautiful. Every year, I vow to start this and that earlier, so I’ll have time to…whatever. But I never do. 🙂

    December 18, 2008 at 8:30 pm

  3. Hi Zoe – Glad the house might be sorted for Christmas! That will make a big difference.

    Hi Nancy – I know, all these good intentions we have. It is of course an age thing …. the days just go faster than when we were spring chickens.

    This is what I made for my cousin to commemorate her ordination.

    Thanks for visiting
    Karen

    December 18, 2008 at 8:45 pm

  4. I decided a few years ago to stop the madness (for me…not others)! No Christmas cards go out…well, to a few friends 😉 Karen, the card is beautiful! gail

    December 18, 2008 at 9:45 pm

  5. Sandy

    Hey, I just found this blog! I like the fonts and the colors on this one.

    I did my last two cards today. I usually do photo cards, but this year use vellum on some of them. I have to say, though, I like making eCards better.

    December 18, 2008 at 10:33 pm

  6. Hi Gail – I have had a couple of years when I have not done Christmas cards, then when I moved to Wales I started again to keep with the friends I left behind – next year? well I don’t know yet. Thanks for visiting.

    December 18, 2008 at 11:57 pm

  7. Hey Sandy – so glad you found your way over here – lovely to see you!
    Post your vellum cards – then I can see what you have made – sounds interesting.
    Karen

    December 18, 2008 at 11:58 pm

  8. Start making them tomorrow (lol)

    December 20, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Leave a Reply

