A visual journal

The Nitty-gritty of the garden

knitty-gritty

I was working in one of my customers gardens to-day.

While scrabbling around under a large conifer – I came across these kitting needles stuck in the ground.

Bemused, I asked C. (A formidable gardener, I think she may be in her early 80’s)

“Why are there knitting needles stuck in the ground under the tree?”

After a little while, with a very wicked twinkle in her eye, C replied.

“That Karen, is the Knitty-Gritty of the Garden”

7 responses

  1. VP

    Tee hee – but I’m none the wiser!

    March 18, 2009 at 8:31 pm

  2. Very funny. I used to tie plant labels to mine when I ran out of small stakes. They got more use in the garden than they ever did for knitting!

    March 18, 2009 at 8:32 pm

  3. Dobby

    Very goood. Sounds like your client has a sense of humour! I never did like knitting.

    March 18, 2009 at 9:24 pm

  4. What wonderful wit! 🙂

    March 18, 2009 at 9:55 pm

  5. How funny!

    March 18, 2009 at 10:30 pm

  6. Perhaps she was going to do some moss stitch…

    March 18, 2009 at 11:33 pm

  7. Thanks for leaving comments,

    VP – My feelings exactly 🙂

    Easygardener – really?

    Dobby, Nancy and Sheila –

    C really is an amazing lady, with a wicked sense of humor. A delight to work for.

    Victoria – Tee hee 🙂 do you knit then?

    March 19, 2009 at 11:18 pm

Leave a Reply

